Primary Research – Questionnaire

I decided to do a questionnaire to learn more about what the two subjects I am using for my final image think about makeup. Here is what I learned:

Sean’s response:

Do you want to be able to cover your blemishes with makeup?

Yes.

Do you feel more confident when you wear makeup?

No.

Do you think that the people around you judge you for the makeup you wear?

Yes.

Do you think you are restricted on what you can do with makeup based on your gender?

Yes.

Why/why not?

As a boy it is not seen as normal and so I don’t know much about it.

What do you think about men wearing makeup?

They can do what they want.

What do you think about the media’s portrayal of men and makeup?

I can’t really answer as I’ve never seen a man wearing makeup in the media.

I am not really very surprised by Sean’s response to the questions as it is well known that men wearing makeup is something that is usually quite frowned upon. I think it will be interesting to compare his answers to Lauren’s to really show the contrast and inequality between men and women.

Leave a comment